goodcluck

My grass and poo!

(hatch) Hi there, I'm a complete novice chicken keeper and am getting on fine with the eglu and am moving it round every 7 days, but as we in the UK have such lovely weather this time of the year, the lawn is getting wetter and less absorbent and of course, the chickens poo in their run and its really ruining the lawn. Now I'm no priss whose worried about my pretty lawn (a) coz it isn't pretty in the first place and b) coz I've got two dogs that run round on it!), but I'd still rather it look green that like a brown bog! Sorry if this is a dumb question, but what can I put on the grass in the run that will stop the poo getting all compacted into the grass and that obviously won't go horrid in the rain or blow all over the place in the wind? Thanks eggsperts :think:

Grass and chickens are not a good combination!

I think many of us started out with the idea we could keep them on grass and move them around every few days. As you say, it doesn't work in the UK climate in winter. So I think people have opted for either no grass or have found a more permanent solution.

Mine love mooching in the borders actually so grass isn't essential. Hope that helps - if not a lot!

Tricia

Hi All