v8landy

Hen all puffed up. **Updated.

Noticed today one of the hens is sort of on her own, all puffed up. By that I mean she looks to have her feathers all fluffed up, neck all scrunshed down and tail down.

Very slow moving and just moping along.

When she does move a bit, she stands up OK and neck re-appears and tails up, but quickly back down.

She is not laying, assuming broody, but not seen this before?

Can anyone confrim?

All puffed up, moping in the run, tail down is classic 'ill hen pose' I'm afraid - although it could be she's trying to pass a soft egg (I've no experience of that at all; hopefully somebody else can help) or possibly be about to moult? If not, does she have any other symptoms? Is she eating/drinking/pooing normally? If she was mine I might consider when was she last wormed and what with? I'd check very thoroughly for lice/mites. Does she have a full crop in the morning (shouldn't have, if its hard indicates she's crop bound; if soft and stinky then sour crop)? Is she walking OK when she moves or waddling? If there's a waddle and/or she has a swollen abdoment she may either be egg-bound or have egg peritonitis. The former needs the egg expelling, the latter has 2 forms, one is sterile and can be treated but not cured, the other is, I'm afraid, usually fatal. Is her breathing OK - no rattle/cough. Are her eyes/nose clean - no discharge?

Lots of questions!

Just been out and she is in the coop with the other 3.

Eyes, nose, beak and all OK,

Vent is quite red, and seen twitching, and following down to her under belly is quite red, and visable.

Never wormed them in the time we have had them (3 years) :oops: ,

Yes, I have read your post, reads very much the same.

Did yours comeon very quickly? My hen was fine 2 days ago, and she is the regular egg layer.

Waddling around (when se moves) likea duck, and under belly swollen.

They are 100% free range, but not had some grit in a while.