Heidi-Hi

Can I mix Bantams and 'normal' chickens?

OK... I've never done introductions before. Any tips? I've got an old single guinea pig cage with one quarter blocked off for sleeping and the rest wire. I use it for my 'hospital' or broody cage. If I put that in the WIR, and a couple of bantams in it, do I leave them in there for a few days, with food and water, and after that let them out every now and then, until they are all used to it?

I asked the very same question recently as I keep Bantams and wanted to introduce some 'regular' hens. I've had mixed responses from everywhere I have asked. I've decided that I will introduce two bigger hens but go for a 'light' breed. I've reserved 2 cream legbar girlies who are not quite old enough to come home yet. Tbh, my Polands have real chips on their shoulders, they don't worry me in the slightest but the Sussex bantam girlies are much more docile and they are the ones that I am worried will get bullied. Good luck whatever you decide!

I keep mine separately but if you do want to risk it, go extra carefully with the introductions and have a plan B.

Couldn't agree more. Some people have managed it (although it's easier to mix new big ones into existing group of bantys) I tried it with 3 existing bantys and tried to add my 2 bluebelles and it was very clear one of my little ones was in serious dangers of being killed.

It depends on the breed and the individual chicken tbh but I would definately be prepared to keep them separately if needed.

I have 2 big girls with 7 bantams....I have two eglus but they now all like to be together so they share a run and all sleep together....however as other people have said take your time with the intros. I found free ranging initially later in the pm with corn scattered helped.