Janepie33

Would you complain?

When one of the diamonds from my 25 year old engagement fell out, OH and I got a couple of quotes from local jewellers.

The one I went to said that they would replace the diamond and repair the claws holding it in. The jeweller OH went to said they would do the same thing, but cheaper.OH chose the cheaper option ( :roll: ).

Now my ring has returned and at first look my feeling was that there was something different about my ring (I HAVE been wearing it for 25 years!). OH said he thought it was exactly the same, but to me the ring looks MUCH thinner and I suspect that the jeweller has taken gold from the band of the ring to replace the claws. :evil: The diamonds also seem to be deeper set and don't sparkle as much as they did before. :( AND I am sure it is lighter, even with the new diamond. The jeweller showed OH the old claws which OH then sold back to the jeweller for £9.

DD has just finished her digital media degree and as part of one of her projects she took a close up photo of my hand with the ring on it. Once she has manage to find it, I might be able to identify some changes to the ring.

Would you go back to the jeweller and complain about the repair.

I think if you go back you'l just get fobbed off - someone who would rip you off like this, isn't going to readily admit that they did anything wrong.

To have a realistic chance of success you need an expert opinion. You could start by asking your local trading standards office; they might tell you who they use for jewellery matters.

Do be aware that a good jeweller will usually 'service' a piece of jewellery at the same time as repairing it which, in the case of a ring, will mean knocking it back into a perfect circle - which it almost certainly wasn't if you've been wearing it for so long. That would make it feel different, but wouldn't really account for the other matters you raise