WeeDoris

Wheezing hen with a blurry eye 🐔

Hello fellow chicken friends, I’m new to hen keeping, had my 3 girls since the start of the year. One of them has developed a bad wheeze, she sneezes a lot, it has gradually been getting worse over a month or so, and now she is opening her beak to breath and extending her neck. Sounds like darth Vader, and today I noticed her left eye is very blurry and she had it closed a lot. She is eating and drinking fine and acting normal, crop also appears normal. Neither of the other 2 birds have any symptoms at all. I have wormed them this week as was worried it was gape worm but no improvement. Any suggestions??

27 minutes ago, Luvachicken said:

I would take her back and get more antibiotics for a longer period of time.

Did your vet give the usual Baytril ?

She might need something like Tylan instead.

Let us know how she gets on.

Agreed, sounds as if she may have a chest infection, which has worsened without treatment.

Roughly where are you based?

It might pay to phone around the local vets and ask if any of them has avian experience.

Thanks all. Took her back to the vet yesterday, they have ordered more antibiotics - arriving today as they dont carry them - Tylan (?) will start the course tonight and hopefully that does it - everything i have read online points towards Mycoplasma. Last time the vet said they gave a standard antibiotic (i think he said Baytril) so hopefully the Tylan will do the job. Will keep you all posted!