i am going to get my chickens a dust bath, well paul is going to make the chickens a dust bath.

will really fine sand do the trick or should i be using something else?? ive seen some kiln dried sand that looks like it will do the trick but im not sure. :?

thanks everyone.

laura :D

My dad built the girls a dustbath with a roof, and I filled it with a mixture of sand and top soil they love it and spend a lot of time bathing or just using it to shelter from the weather, because it is covered the soil and sand stay dry............... :D

Good luck with the project hope this helps........ :D You need the base to be quite deep so they don't flick all the dirt out.

Both Lesley and Trish mention using louse powder in their dust baths. Should I be doing that :?: There is so much to learn :shock: Where did you get your louse powder from :?:

Please advise me, I'm just a novice at this chicken rearing :roll:

Thankyou :lol:

I don't use louse powder - yet! I know you can get it from the sort of shops that sell animal feed. We have a place called The One Stop Chicken Shop near us and they supply it but I haven't seen any sign of lice on the girls and they seem to keep clean by regularly dustbathing in just the dry topsoil. However, if I do spot any critters, I'll be straight off for some powder!!

I hate lice, fleas, mite etc after we had a kitten nearly die from anemia brought on by fleas (she was like it when we got her, not my doing Honest) so I use louse powder and do the Eglu with Red mite powder as well. I can get feed locally but that's all so I got my other supplies over the internet from www.ascott.biz. They are suppliers for small holders and therefore don't expect everyone to have hundreds of chickens and need kilos of everything