BethK

Some beginners questions

Hi everyone,

I'm new to chicken keeping.

We've just bought an Eglu Classic which we're putting in a WIR that's approx 4m x 2m.

My daughter has her heart set on 4 chickens. We'd like some similar to Rhode Island rangers.

Do you think the size of the classic would be ok for 4 standard size chickens? We don't want bantams but also don't want to squash 4 hens in the classic and then they end up fighting.

Do you think 3 would be better?

Also the run has a grass floor but I'd like to put sand/gravel in the bottom. My parents have chickens and said they prefer bark floor so they can scratch it up for bugs and things. Would they not be able to do that with sand?

Any help, advice or tips will be much appreciated :)

Sand and gravel will get thrown everywhere BethK. We tried gravel and it ended up all over the lawn which didn't do the mower much good. We used bark chippings, but it is best if they are kept dry and poo picked daily. They they may be OK for 12 months. They need boarding around the bottom for wind protection and it will retain the chips. Your run is 8 square metres and then it has a coop in it. If you want 4 hens I would advise the coop is lifted well off the ground to retain the run space. I don't know what you have covered over the run with, if anything, but it is best if rainwater goes into guttering and then well away to avoid the ground getting boggy. They will need shelter from the rain I think, preferably over the whole area as it is quite small. I normally aim for 4 square metres per hen if they are never free ranging. Smaller and there is a stress factor that can lead to problems, although a perch in the run does help. I think you are best with just 3 hens, but be advised now you will not be able to add another one later on. Introducing single hens is very problematic (reputable breeders won't sell you a single hen) and introducing pairs is bad enough.

Thank you for your help.