Catwoman

Help hens not laying!

Am a complete newbie to hen keeping, so be gentle! I have 5 hens 2 are about 20 weeks old, and 3 are around 11 weeks. On arrival we had them in a smaller run and after a few days the older girls started laying again. One only seemed to lay double-yolkers and the other would lay every 2 days rather than daily. I felt their run was too small, so we have now moved them to a much larger run where they seem much happier. Problem is the 2 older girls have now stopped laying. They are hybrids.

They have cider vinegar a couple of times a week in their water, are fed on layers pellets and will eat occasional kitchen s"Ooops, word censored!"s, have grit, and look to be in fine health. The only thing I can think of is that having roosted on the bars they have started sleeping in the nesting box at night. Could this stop them from laying? We've had no egg action for 12 days........

I've checked all over the run for eggs, but nothing. Advice please.....!

Firstly, they are still quite young –' point of lay' is a term of art and hens are likely to have an erratic laying pattern in the early weeks. The double-yolkers are common when pullets are coming into lay. Secondly, I wonder if they are just too well fed? I would hold back on s"Ooops, word censored!"s and restrict their free ranging time to make sure that they are mostly eating pellets. You say they only get occasional kitchen s"Ooops, word censored!"s, and that should be fine, but it's worth restricting their diet for a few days to see if it makes a difference.

When mature hens have stopped laying, it's often recommended to worm them, however your hens are still quite young and I'm not sure what the recommendations are for worming pullets, and whether this would have been done by the breeder. I would just give it a bit more time. I definitely don't think sleeping in the nestbox will stop them laying, mine do it all the time.