daisymay

Suspect cocidiosis v worried all fluffed *UPDATE & QUESTION*

my usually perky pepperpot blackie seems to be having an off day. she is normally running about and pecking happily. i have noticed today that she is hardly moving about (has been in the same spot since 2ish today). she is all fluffed up and seems to be hunched. i've checked her over and she feels fine. her vent is clean, her comb etc bright red. when i picked her up she almost immediately went to sleep in my arms (never happened before). the other girls have all been sitting round her as she's top of the order, but have now moved away. i put her in the nesting box to try and give her some rest time but she came out straight away and sat on one of the perches.

she had a couple of pecks at the treats but walked away and turned her back.

there have been a few dodgy poos about in the last few days but i don't know who they're from as always seem to miss seeming them, even when watching!

i am quite new to hens and haven't experienced the poorly hen thing.

They have layers pellets with garlic powder, bokshoi bran, poutry spice and get cider vinegar in the water. they also have grit and limestone flour added to some of the pellets.

she is my son's favourite so I'm getting doubly worried. :(:? please please advise...

7pm - update - have just checked where she's been standing and there is some very watery poo. there is also some other poo that looks half normal, with quarter frothy yellow and quarter looks like grassy stuff (they do freerange a lot and have greens everyday as well).

Edited by Guest

i wormed them all with verm-x last week. not convinced about it though after reading about it on the forum (although now have massive tub). no sign of worms anywhere that i can see easily though?

what do you use, out of interest?

she has moved a bit and had a couple little pecks at pellets but now hunched up again. the others seem quite concerned as are all fussing round her and keep walking past.