iwannachicken

Will a chicken be happy on her own?

I have just lost 2 out of the 3 chickens we had(thought we had lost all 3 but found Harley untouched the next morning). I am still really upset about the whole situation but feel sorry now for Harley who is on her own. Will she be a happy chicken on her own or should i buy her some other friends. As i am still really upset at just having lost our beloved chickens i didn't want to buy any more just yet,but seeing Harley on her own i feel so sorry for her but also scared that this could happen again(The neighbours dog managed to get into our garden and attacked them :( ) .

I just don't know what to do for the best? Any advice and kind words appreiciated.

Thanks.

So sorry to hear what has happened :( What do the dog owners have to say about it? I am no expert but have read that chickens are not at all happy on their own. I only have 2 and thay are glued at the hip so I can believe this to be true. If you are unable to think about new chickens at the moment maybe you could find a home for the one remaining? Otherwise, I would find your girl a friend as soon as possible. Hugs for you.

Get her some friends as soon as you can, chooks are flock creatures & are much happier with friends...not to mention warmer during the cold nights which are here already :anxious: .

It's very hard to loose a chook to a known dog, a neighbour's mum visited with her dog & attacked my girls, killing Tulip & traumatising Hazel horrendously ...........apparently soft as butter, wouldn't hurt a fly etc etc ....yeah right still killed my girl though :evil:

Fortunately we still had 9 other girls, so getting more girls wasn't an instant decision, but really it is the best for Harley and they will help to mend your broken heart with their silly antics.

There are so many breeds out there, you can get 2 different ones if that helps....

RIP Tikka & Dippa :cry:

Sha x