Cats and Chickens

Chickens with Bald bottoms

Hope someeone can advise me I am fairly new to chicken keeping. Two of my three girls have developed bald bottoms pretty quickly over the last few days. I haven't seen any pecking going on but am assuming that is the problem and am going out to get some anti-pecking spray and gentian violet.

I am worried this is as a result of boredom. Should I be giving them more interest in their run?

How long will it take for them to grow feathers again and will they get cold in the meantime?

There aren't lots of feathers anywhere especially on the girls bottoms. I wondered if they had eaten the plucked feathers. I bought anti pecking spray yesterday but haven't applied it yet as it says use disposable gloves and I am a bit worried about how to hold a chicken ,spray its bum and only need to dispose of my gloves as opposed to all my clothing.

My two younger chooks hadn't any tail feathers yet, but when they got pecked, you could see the damage the others had done. It wasn't like a plucked chicken: it was more red raw.

I managed to get the gentian violet on the chickens ok, but some sprayed onto my jeans. It looks quite pretty really, but I'm glad I wasn't wearing white linen :lol: Oh, and I have a big box of disposable gloves which I bought for a few quid anyway. I like them for cleaning out etc.

Mine are cordoned off from the peckers more securely now, so are recuperating nicely.

Hope someeone can advise me I am fairly new to chicken keeping. Two of my three girls have developed bald bottoms pretty quickly over the last few days. I haven't seen any pecking going on but am assuming that is the problem and am going out to get some anti-pecking spray and gentian violet.

I am worried this is as a result of boredom. Should I be giving them more interest in their run?

How long will it take for them to grow feathers again and will they get cold in the meantime?