Olly

My first honey crop

I was amazed a few weeks ago to discover that the first super was full of honey, as I hadn't expected them to fill it so quickly and I had to rush to get a second one ready to put on. On Saturday I took the top one off, extracted it, and yesterday I bottled 21lbs of honey! It is exactly a year to the day since I got my bees.

I've always wanted to keep bees, but honey wasn't part of the objective; I had no idea how much honey they produced, and before I started learning I would probably have guessed 4 or 5 jars to a hive. :lol: They are already filling the second super, so with the right conditions I could get a similar crop at the end of August.

It's a lovely amber colour, but my mentor says it will set as it's already got crystals in.

When you know how many journeys a bee has to make just to fill one cell, it was a humbling moment to open the tap on the extractor and see a river of honey pouring out. I'm told that honey will never taste as good again as this first crop! No doubt experienced bee keepers will yawn and move on, but for me this has been a fabulous weekend - I can't believe that all these lovely jars have come out of a box in my back garden. The only problem now is that I seem to have wildly and generously promised honey to lots of people, I suspect this first crop is going to end up being given away!

congrats olly! We are in the same position as you we have just taken off the first super. Unfortunately i don't have an extractor and i have to wait till thurs to borrow on! Lets hope it doesn't crystalise before then

Either keep it very cool or very warm if it has OSR in it. Otherwise it may well be impossible to completely spin it out.

Regards, RAB

No doubt experienced bee keepers will yawn and move on

Oh no I won't ... I got 27lbs of honey from my very first hive. I saved up for months from my paper round to be able to buy my first ceder hive in 1979. That was a long time ago and I was only fourteen!