hippy chick

(now sour crop) Sad update

Maureen has been off it yesterday and today. She got in to a bit of a squabble with one of the new girls on Sunday night. And on Monday she didn't lay, she is as regular as clockwork normally. She keeps going to the nest-box and coming out an hour later without producing an egg.

I have given her a bit of a check up and she looks ok. I think I can feel an egg in her abdomen but I'm no expert so am not sure. I have given her some liquid paraffin, put limestone powder in her food with cod-liver oil. She has had a hot bath but still hasn't parted with it. What do i do next?

Thanks Jilly

Edited by Guest

It could also be both, due to her reproductive timing being slightly out. This would be very uncomfortable for her because the queued egg would be pressing on the softee, or vice versa. Our Gertie was withdrawn when we got home one evening last week and laid a softee in my arms (unfortunately I couldn't catch it!), then a good egg overnight. I thought I was seeing things! If an egg stays cooking longer than normal, it is often darker in colour.

If you gently squeeze the sides of her abdomen between thumb and forefinger, you should be able to feel whether an egg is coming. Some chickens carry their egg low down, some further up and it is hard to feel. It might also feel small because it is deep inside, but be laid larger than you expect. I am not expert enough to feel a softee!

I would first try the hairdryer trick on and off for 20 minutes or so and have an old towel handy, or at least keep her warm in a box indoors overnight.

Best of luck...