Hi witzend

I have a walk in run on pavers. On the floor I put dust extracted wood chip. ( £6 large bale is more than enought to cover a 6 feet+ 9 feet run and still have plenty to use in the cube). As the run is covered I only change the woodchip every 3-4 months. I just rake it over every week and spinkle it with disinfectant power.

Hope this helps

Sage

Hi - I'm considering 2/3 hens but will have to keep them on a flagged area (I've no lawn to start with!) -from experience, what have people found the pros and cons of:

Bark.....heavy,can get water logged & claggy.Potential health issues from mould spores.

Soil...topped with Aubiose (a horse bedding), this can work well - I have been doing this for many years. Not good if your ground is prone to getting water logged or is clay.Aubiose is light,easily compostable & very absorbant.

Gravel......heavy,doesn't allow good drainage,you need to hose poo away very regularly. Potential to harm hens feet too.

Straw....Not good. Gets wet & waterlogged,plus the hollow tubes can harbour mites.

Other....Aubiose or similar on flags or soil is really good,but you do need your run to be covered.

??

Thanks xx

Not used gravel, bark or soil

but Strawsorb (rape straw) worked really well and goes a long way. It really dries things up and smells good at £5 odd a bale.

Aubiose and Hemcore (Hemp straw) are excellent but more expensive (£9-£12) and Hemcore can have fibres which ball around toes in muddy weather.

Soft wood chip works well in uncovered run and reasonable price (£4-6).

Easibed is wood pulp and works well but doesn't dry droppings as thoroughly as the rape and hemp beds £8.

Bedmax is cheaper wood flakes and was comparable to easibed £5-6.

I think there is a sticky somewhere about beddings maybe in FAQ section :D

I just buy what's in stock and better one if I'm feeling flush :D