CatieB

iPad apps and tips

I finally gave in and bought an iPad a few weeks ago as my lap top was dying. I have to say I'm not loving it but that's probably because I have never used anything apple before so I'm not getting it.

So far I've just surfed and been keeping upto date on here. I'm sure there are better uses. All tips and good apps greatly received, especially the free ones. I have only downloaded the kindle app so far.

What I really really need is some sort of typing app. It's not for long thesis or anything complicated but I need something. The other day I really needed to type a memo for work to email over and that's when I discovered the lack of typing app, I thought there would be an office equivalent. Does anyone know what I can use? Thanks

Pages is the Apple equivalent of Word, it's excellent, very intuitive and easy to work with. Search on the Apps for Pages or iWorks (iWorks is the suite name, it will bring up Pages, Numbers (Excel equiv) and Keynote (Powerpoint equiv). All excellent IMHO, I only converted to Apple this year after a lifetime of PC, and am loving it, will never leave Apple now!

HTH

Tina x

I have looked and Pages is 6.99 as is each of the other apps mentioned. iWork's is the same price for each element making it over twenty. Now is it just me being tight and a grump but I don't really want to spend money particularly having spent a small fortune on the device itself. Never have I bought a device without the basics included.

Is this the downside to iPad?

Anyway anyone have good app recommendations? We were even trying to load free games for my son but downloaded a few to find out they were just trials and you then have to pay :?

If it's a memo for work then not type it directly in to the e-mail?