freddie

University open days

ES and DH have left fro the 2nd round, two days of uni visits, with the prospect of fee rises ringing in their ears as they drive off.

I don't know what to recommend to ES, the prospect of degree course, and likely 50k debt, or try to get an apprenticeship, with lower earning prospects in his future.. :(

Well, being a lecturer, I am , of course, biased, but I think for most students University is very much worthwhile.

The qualification is on your CV for the rest of your life - and 'counts' for the rest of your life. I have seen *so* many friends hit middle age and be passed by for promotion etc time and time again because they don't have degrees and the younger people coming into the industry (across a wide variety of sectors) do. There's no reason to think that will change.

I'm also very much a believer in Uni as a 'good thing' for all round education, not just in the chosen subject, but the opportunity to meet such a broad range of people and develop hobbies, talents and learning in a broader range of subjects than you will find anywhere else.

Students also get that 'education for life' thing about job search and interview techniques and the opportunity to do work experience, travel and meet experts from a huge range of companies that you get nowhere else.

Having said all that, I am still shocked by the number of students who don't make anything like full use of their time at Uni. They don't attend classes, don't participate in anything they don't 'have' to go to; do the bare minimum to pass an assessment etc etc. Sometimes it's because they're not really interested in the subject - they've only done it because of parental pressure or it''s what they were best at at school. Sometimes it's because they are just too young and really should have taken a year or two out to 'grow up' a little.