Speckledotty

Introducing one chicken to existing two

I'm a very novice chicken keeper, and bought my first two chickens just over a week ago. I added a different breed on Friday, and there has been a bit of bullying towards the newest ever since. We let them free range together when we are around to supervise, and the newest gets chased around a bit, but has plenty of room to escape. We have segregated the run for when they have to be shut into it, so they can see each other but can't get to each other. I feel sorry for the newest one, as she is on her own. Does anyone think it would be helpful to get another one to go with her (same age)? Or would this potentially make the situation worse?? I'd be grateful of any advice.

Introducing new birds to an existing flock can be very difficult, although some manage without much fuss. Adding a single bird is not something that is generally adviced and I think the chicken breeder shouldn’t have let you leave with a single bird, aspecially as new chicken owners. 

Personally I have never added a single bird, so someone will probably be along shortly to advice what to do now.

As said, the breeder should not have let you have one alone. She will be destined to a lonely bullied life whatever happens. You can add two to one if you are careful, but not one to two with safety without a rather complex and time consuming process.

Adding a single hen is extremely difficult and requires neutral ground, not the existing coop and run in it's current location. You move the two established ones out and put them somewhere else. Then put the newcomer into the run and coop in a new location and leave her to establish herself. She will quickly be lonely, so move the original two close to her. Wait a week and then put the two in.

If you haven't the facilities or ability to move the coop and run it will be down to luck. Make sure you add an extra feeder and drinker as that's when the newbie will be bullied.