AndyRoo

Long time, no see / questions!

Hello everyone!

I hope you're all doing well? What has everyone been up to?

The partner and I are in the midst of a house renovation so I've been busy painting and decorating and knocking buildings down and laying flooring and designing new a new kitchen - and, yes, it is as exhausting as it sounds!!

On top of all that I'm now studying English, Japanese, and Counselling (which is what I'm about to embark on as a degree), and I am also getting close to the point where I am nearly ready to publish my first book! YAY! We also now have our long term plan in place: once I've finished my degree (still a few years away), we're moving to France (courtesy of Brexit... c'est la vie!) - but that should be fun; we're planning to buy a place for us and a villa to run as a B&B! I'm also genuinely considering breeding some pure breed hens to sell as pets on my own little small holding.

We're now up to 9 hens! Although we lost one recently to our fist ever fox attack! *grinds teeth* Still, I suppose I can't knock a fox for its nature; although I have now installed an electric fence and a few other measures (scent sprays, sonic alarms, and some motion sensor lights!). If he somehow gets hold of another hen, I'll plug it directly in to the national grid and blast the little git into the neighbouring postcode! lol

I do have some questions for people:

Does anyone have any experience with a Light Sussex? I've had my girl for a few months or so now, and although she has been laying for a while, he eggs are on the small side... probably about the size of a bantam egg. Will these get bigger over time?