kambro

Snake in coop - dead chicken

I found a black snake under the pine shavings of the egg laying side two mornings ago. I pulled it out and let it go in the woods.

Tonight I took the dogs out to go potty before bed and heard a loud thud from inside the coop. I took the dogs inside and grabbed a flashlight to investigate. To my horror, there was a black snake wrapped around the neck of my rooster. It killed him. 

Now I’m kicking myself for not checking the inside of the coop before closing them in. I realize now I have too much straw lining the trays. The snake hid under the shavings after I got the dead rooster out. I couldn’t even see him  

How can I prevent this? Would wrapping bird netting around the run help to keep them out? Kill even harmless snakes in the coop? 

Oh no!  So sorry. I have no experience with snakes but just wanted to say sotry for your loss that must have been very upsetting and unexpected! 

I guess netting would make smaller holes which might help? I've done this for mice/rats in the UK and seen a difference. Good luck, hope you find a solution.

I'd have a go either with weldmesh (although I'm not sure if that is small enough) as its so strong or perhaps bird netting as its so light - but I don't know if its strong enough to stop a snake?  Yesterday I happened to see a snake with a sparrow in its mouth, so I would try to do something, particularly if you raise chicks.

I'm thinking about putting a motion activated camera in the nesting area so I can monitor movement during the day.  I found a smashed egg in there yesterday and wonder if another snake came in.  No dead chickens yesterday.  

I need to figure out how to add the wire and what kind of wire to add.  I'm not very handy.  I don't want to make it so heavy I can't move it.  I already have a 3 m run.