Hi! I'm new to chickens - just picked up six lovely ladies yesterday who presented me with two eggs this morning already! I have the MK2 Cube with 3 run sections attached and plan to let the girls free range once they've settled in and I'm sure they'll know where 'home' is. With the six of them in the MK2 Cube there is plenty of room (this was a concern of mine!)

My first question is this - the chickens really don't seem to like the floor of the MK2 - they keep looking down at it and they act as though they're afraid to walk on it - will they adjust to it? They were kept in a traditional coop for the first six months of their lives, so this is new to them. Should I be doing something to ease the trasition?

Second - I have the auto-door and both last night and tonight they all go into the coop (though some of them are terrible about blocking the door so it takes forever for them to all get inside), but the last one in doesn't go completely inside, so the auto-door won't close. Is this another adjustment thing, or should I be doing something different to get them to go all the way inside? I've thought about trying to have the inside light on a little longer because I read that chickens cannot see in the dark, so maybe they can't see to get in and situated? Or could this relate to their dislike of the floor?

Thank you all for the help :)

I can see that would be a problem with an auto door because I often have one girl who sleeps in the doorway. Can you overrride the automatic closure and close it manually? Sometimes a chook sleeping in the doorway is just because she wants to (I had an araucana banty who always did) or sometimes because she’s bottom of the pecking order and can’t get any further in (this occasionally happens to my pekin).

3 hours ago, mullethunter said: