Jenny Smedley

Warning Re Foxes

Hi all , I don't know how to start this as Im still trying to stop crying - my husband doesn't get it as although he loves our 2 dogs , he doesn't get how I can get so attached to my chickens- last night a fox ( I suspect from the carnage left behind) came & killed all my hens. The thing I want to warn everyone is that my wire fence was over 5 ft high as was the wooden gate, which was still locked . The fence is dug well into the ground & there are no breaches - how did it get in??? A neighbour , who is an ex farmer ( and found 2 of my hens partially buried in his garden) said that a fox can climb a mesh fence easily , especially if hungry or with cubs to feed. The thing is , like lots of people I suspect, I'd leave the door a couple of ins ajar so my girls could push their way out early in the morning as I'm not good at getting up v. early ( I have a long term condition that makes it difficult to get going). I thought I was doing them a favour as I was confident in my fence set up. Looking at the blood & feathers I can't imagine the awful death they had & basically it's my fault for not locking the door of the eglu. I wouldn't wish this on anyone -PLEASE CLOSE & LOCK THE DOOR OF THE EGLU AT NIGHT. Jenny

Im so sorry about your hens Jenny :(

We do get attached to our girls dont we.

I agree the fox musnt be under estimated and thanks for your warning, I've always locked the door at night and hopefully people with foxes in their area that dont shut their doors will take your advice.

Are you going to get any more when you've got over this?

What a shame, I'm so sorry you have lost all your chickens in such an awful way. I always lock my door as we are in a built up area where the foxes dont care and will not bolt at the sight of a human even. I do hope you get over this and can enjoy keeping chickens once more.

Sarah.x