Berkochicks

Anyone else run their own business from home/work from home?

Just wondering how you anyone else copes.

I had a meeting yesterday at home. My childcare was canceled so I had my daughter was at home (16 months). Not a big problem as it was afternoon nap time. However, her bedroom is above the office and she wakes at the sound of my voice. So, the meeting went ahead in the lounge.

The meeting was going very smoothly, when, Rosie and Princess suddenly appeared at the patio doors tapping like crazy. The poor man nearly hit the ceiling. I don't think he had noticed the chickens up to that point.

Joking aside, I've been doing this for 3 years now and some times it gets me down. How do you stop yourselves from going and tidying when you should be typing. How do you get the rest of the family to respect your work space. I am currently at my desk looking at

-1 tambourine

-1 gameboy

-a teething ring

-a tippy cup

- a little handbag

-200 unused post it notes stuck to the desk

-crayons

-today's supply of school letters

This is a good day!!!

Any tips on how to keep my sanity.

Donna (cube blue)GNRGNRPPPP(Bluebelle)(white chicken)

I studied at home rather than worked at home, but I did have to write myself a daily time table (and stick to it) to stop myself going off to do the washing when I got bored with work.

That way, I only did "home" jobs during y lunch hour or "after work".

But it is hard (and lonely at times). You have my sympathy .. or empathy if thats less patronising ..... :)

I shout. A lot. It sometimes is Not good. Mine are older, but we started the 1st business when I was pregnant with my 1st, 13 yrs ago. I work a lot at night, esp the stuff that really matters.

my new yr resolution is to shout less. and swear less; it's not going so well :oops:

I have learned to tune out, and to really focus, but then, it's Friday night, and I've just put on the 2nd wash, and hoovered.

Self employment is incredibly rewarding , but totally knackering.