gooner.girl

RIP Buttercup

I feel awful :cry: I got my eglu starter kit along with 2 hens a maran cross (Daisy)and gingernut ranger cross (Buttercup) only about a month ago.

My first intention was to let them out in the garden when we were home and put them in a run when we were out. As it happens i was around a lot in the summer (i'm a teacher) so they were out most of the time. They enjoyed it so much. So i decided i'd rather they live a happy life outside with the risk of fox then a safe but boring life in the run. So have let them out since returning to work.

Well i had some books (big parcel) delivered today and the postie didn't shut the back garden gate. They both got out. I came home, caught Daisy but buttercup has been found dead in a neighbours garden. I feel terrible. I must be the worlds worst chicken keeper. I couldn't keep her alive longer then a month. Poor girl. She must have been in so much pain and fear. Her feathers were everywhere.

I blame myself as i put on the internet order form that they should leave the books with a neighbour or round the back if i was not in though i also put that they needed to shut the gate. Well that was ignored but even so...

Now i have lots of questions? Don't know whether you can help me fellow chicken keepers?

Can we bury Buttercup?

Should we get a companion chicken for Daisy?

Is it likely that whatever killed her - i assume fox though it must have been midmorning, (we do live in a village next to fields) is it more likely to come back looking for daisy?

Please help

Helen

Oh Helen, what dreadful news. And how awful to find her like that.

You're not supposed to bury them but I did, it helps to have a grave, but dig it deep and put a big stone on top. Save some of her feathers to remember her by.

I'd get a friend or two for Daisy asap or she'll pine - chooks are very sociable.

I would be aware that a daytime fox may have taken her; you might need to take precautions.