Guest Poet

Open University

I started 'Y160 Making Sense of the Arts' a cple of weeks ago via The OU and am really enjoying it.

I just wondered if anybody on here had done any OU courses, which course did you take and what did you think of it?

I started 'Y160 Making Sense of the Arts' a cple of weeks ago via The OU and am really enjoying it.

I just wondered if anybody on here had done any OU courses, which course did you take and what did you think of it?

:clap::clap: That's great Poet, I think you'll love it.

Several years ago I studied part time over 8 years (incl. one year off) to complete a degree which is Psychology based. My first year was an arts foundation course & I intended to do an English degree. But, in those days, one had to take 2 foundation courses. So, my 2nd year was Social Sciences & I continued in Psychology & didn't do the English at all.

Meanwhile, the format has changed a lot, my essays were handwritten at the beginning and there was no internet!

However, my daughter has embarked on a couple of couses & it seems as good as ever.

I have nothing but praise for the OU, it really makes you think not just learn facts.

it was a bit daunting when i received all my course books and DVD, there seemed to be so much to work through but it's a course designed to introduce you to degree level study (as well as studying the arts) and I'm beginning to really enjoy it. There's an OU course forum and a facebook group so you can exhange ideas with other students on the same course and I had a call from my tutor this evening so it's beginning to feel a bit less scary :D

What's your daughter studying Sheila?

The company I work for will pay for a degree or masters course and as you have to combine it with working full time most people opt for an OU course. Several of my workmates are doing courses and are thoroughly enjoying them but are finding the demands on their time greater than was originally expected

I wish somebody would pay for mine! :lol: