ValerieR

advice please! Getting 3 ex-battery chickens on 24 April

Hi everyone!

I am very excited - have finally bought an eglu classic off ebay and am getting 3 ex-batt girls on 24 April. I am new to this and I am sure I willl be on here often picking up tips and asking questions!

First daft question - when I get them home where do I put them? Should I put them straight in their wee house or just into the run? Will they find their way into the nesting area ok? I am sure I read somewhere about them hurting their wee legs if you dump them on the roosting bars? And should they be kept in the run for a while or is it ok to give them the run of the garden?

I am buying sacks of ex-batt feed from the co-ordinator and I know to make sure they have fresh water. Does this feed need to be supplemented with anything? How soon can I give them treats without giving them the squits? Do they need to be on the ex-batt feed for ever or one the 40kg I am buying runs out can I change to "normal" food?

Our garden is quite big for a modern house - It is an L shape, with several raised veg beds and a greenhouse at one end . There is a 6 foot wall most of the way round and a 6 foot fence round the rest. I have just had a new 6 ft wooden gate fitted as I thought they would be able to squeeze through the wrought iron one there previously. I am keen to keep the chickens out of the veg! I already use netting to prevent my 3 cats using them as deluxe litter trays but I doubt that would keep the hens out! SO - I can either erect another 6 foot fence right across the garden (30 feet!) to demarcate the veg area - or - a less drastic (and expensive!) solution - use the poultry net stuff which I think is only 4 feet high? Would they fly over that do you think?