Lesley's your girl to ask - I know she's had both!

Personally, I loved the look of the wooden ones but thought that the eglu would be a lot easier to keep clean - no awkward corners to get too. Also red mite love wood and I decided there would be less of a problem as the eglu is plastic.

I am new to chicken keeping and made my choice of an eglu for the red mite reduction, and also the eglu/cube is so much more child friendly in my opinon.

They can easily help clean it, egg collect, remove poop tray, it's all very easy and non fiddly. Plus it's awesome as my 12 year old told me.. :lol: (and mines orange :dance: so that's another bonus!)

Eglus are very easy to clean and there is no maintenance to speak of, just a bit of attention to the roosting bars now and then.

The eglu is fox resistant.

The Eglu is warm in winter and cool in summer because of the double wall insulation.

The incidence of redmite in the Eglu is massively reduced.

The Eglu is modern and stylish.....and holds its price well, for when you upgrade to the cube. :lol:

.....and holds its price well, for when you upgrade to the cube. :lol:

:lol::lol: That made me smile...it's so true, you start with an Eglu and you're hooked and need more chickens and a Cube!

A year ago I would never have seen myself as a chicken keeper, but the Eglu really is so easy to look after/clean as others have said, I'd definitely recommend it. They should last a long long time (if not forever) with no maintenance, whereas a wooden one would need more maintenance and need to be replaced in time, so financially it makes sense long term too!

Eglus are very easy to clean and there is no maintenance to speak of, just a bit of attention to the roosting bars now and then.

The eglu is fox resistant.

The Eglu is warm in winter and cool in summer because of the double wall insulation.

The incidence of redmite in the Eglu is massively reduced.