MiniMinx

HELP!! Ordered Eglu but having second thoughts!!

Hi

I've recently ordered the Eglu but I'm now wondering whether I should have gone for the cube instead?

I'm new to keeping chickens and my hubby thinks we should start off small and that the eglu is ideal but I keep looking at the cube and thinking it looks so much better.

The only issue I have with the cube (apart from justifying the additional expense to my hubby) is whether it can be transported as easily as the Eglu when we go on holiday, as we will be leaving the girls with my parents who live about 2 miles away - is it reasonable to take the wheels of the cube to get it in the back of car or will it be too much hassle?

Any advice is gratefully received. :?

Thanks

Hi, never had an eglu so can't really offer any advice, all I will say (apart from the cube is FANTASTIC and you will almost CERTAINLY want more than three or four chooks) is that the cube is actually VERY BIG. We have a Toyota Previa which has 8 seats, it would go in there with the back seats down, you'd never get it in a smaller car. We started with 5 chooks, never kept chickens before and within a week hubby wanted 4 more! :shock: managed to convince him 2 more was enough and we're already, just under 3 weeks later, getting an average of 4 eggs a day. :dance:

It's the best thing we've done in absolutely ages. You'll love it.

(not helped much tho have I?) :lol:

Mrs Bertie

That is helpful - thanks

Unfortunately we have a MINI so I guess I haven't got a chance of fitting in the back even with the seats down.

Its a shame as they haven't arrived yet and I'm already addicted - I just know I'll end up wanting more chickens