Mim

Loss of feathers

Hello

I'm new to keeping chickens so would really appreciate some advice. I have 5 lovely girls. They are all sprightly, interested and basically as chickens should be. The only thing is that 2 are losing feathers around their butts and another has some missing from the back of her neck. This has been going on so slowly for weeks, that it didn't seem to be getting worse, but one definitely is continuing to lose feathers. The others don't seem to  be losing any more, but they don't  seem to be getting any better either. I've checked them all for critters and blood, but there is no sign of anything untoward. I regularly clean out their coop. I've been using Auboise with diamataceous earth and dried lavender mixed in. They have water with cider vinegar in, and on cold mornings, I give them porridge as described on the blog here. In the afternoon, I give them either mixed corn or live mealworms. They are laying.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the forum Mim 😊

They could be moulting but more likely is you have a feather pecker.

Give them lots of things to keep them entertained and perches so they can escape the culprit.

Hang up cabbages, give them treat balls and as a  special treat hang up corn on the cob.

If you see them doing it you could squirt them with a water pistol. If it gets too bad, you might have to fit bumper bits.

37 minutes ago, Luvachicken said:

Welcome to the forum Mim 😊

They could be moulting but more likely is you have a feather pecker.

Give them lots of things to keep them entertained and perches so they can escape the culprit.

Hang up cabbages, give them treat balls and as a  special treat hang up corn on the cob.

If you see them doing it you could squirt them with a water pistol. If it gets too bad, you might have to fit bumper bits.

Bumper bits???😕

10 minutes ago, The Dogmother said: