Twiglet

Jury Service

Here's a new one on me. I've been summonsed to do Jury service in Birmingham in June. Not sure how I feel about it. I know it's my civil duty and all that but it's really going to disrupt my routine as I only work 2 1/2 days a week, also means less time with chooks and in the garden, especially that time of year.

But the main thing is, none of my friends or family have ever done it and I'm a bit apprehensive - is it scary? boring? will it be something else to worry about? (born worrier as it is)

Anyone else done it? How was it?

Hi

In my spare time, I'm a lawyer, so I've seen it from the other side. It's boring and often very frustrating and I would advise a supply of good books.

However, it is SO important that every one does jury duty as it's a check and balance on the power of the state and a chance for someone to have their case heard by people who understand real life. So, try to be positive and not to be swayed by your fellow jurors. Good luck!!

No! Don't be put off!! I did it a couple of years ago and absolutely dreaded the thought of going. I was called the day after the hens arrived so didn't want to go and leave them at all but it was great fun! We were sent home for most of the first week as cases collapsed as the accused realised as they stepped into court that they were guilty after all :lol: ! The second week, I was chosen for the jury and had a 3 day trial to watch and that was it - discharged, duty done!

I'm sure you'll find it enjoyable and interesting. I was with a terrific group of jurors and we got on like a house on fire, playing cards and watching TV between sessions!