Scaredyhen

Too scared to take the plunge!

Hi all :)

Total newbie alert. And still a newbie because I'm just too chicken (excuse the pun) to take the plunge and go ahead with getting some hens. We have a lovely potential home, a huge garden, and I would ideally like the imaginary hens to free range whilst we are at home.

The thing is, we are semi-rural, and I am just too scared of the fox. Every time I think we should just bite the bullet, I come and lurk on a forum like this, read a "lost all the girls to the fox" thread, (more and more so "in broad daylight") and it makes me so sad! I'm basically already upset over not yet losing my imaginary hens to a fake fox. The garden surrounds the house, so it isn't all visible at once, and I'm worried they will be taken from under our noses. I feel like I would be getting chickens just to give the fox some lunch. Am I just not cut out for it do you think? Do I need to be harder than this?! There are a fair few foxes around here I would think. We back onto woodland, and I did see one at the bottom of the garden only last week. Plus the dog always seems to find fox poo to roll in, so they must frequent the garden at night.

I'm also slightly over-whelmed at the whole not-knowing-anything-about-it-ness, although I have managed to have two children and have kept them both alive for several years so far without any prior knowledge. So I think I can get over that part.

Its just the damn fox......

Can someone give me a quick slap round the face possibly? Tell me to man up and get on with it, or just forget my hen dreams?

Edited by Guest

My mum is very rural, the Fox has a den at the top of her field and is currently feeding cubs. She sees it every day checking out her chooks who 'free range' in an orchard inside a 50m electric fence. The only time she ever loses a hen to the fox is when the fence stops working. I'd say get an electric fence and take the plunge.