GrannyTrish

Scots Greys - Newbie to chickens

We're complete newbies to hens and were intending on getting ex-battery hens, but a friend who used to keep chickens suggested to hubby that we might want to get Scots Greys as they're friendlier.

I just wanted to get your opinions and also to find out if any of you know where in Scotland we could get Scots Greys. We don't want to get a cockerel but as Scots Greys are endangered we wondered if it's possible to get a cockerel for stud (sorry I don't the correct chicken terms!) if we decided to get them.

Thanks! :)

Edited by Guest

We got our three ladies last night. They're used to totally free range and roosting in trees, however, they'll have to roost in their hen house staying with us. Should we keep them in their hen house for a couple of days to get used to it or will they fight being cooped up when they're not used to it?

Any advice welcome, thanks.

Thanks, Purplemaniacs, yes we got Scots Greys. Hubby was worried that they'd squabble with being confined when they weren't used to it, but I can put his mind at rest now.

Just waiting on one half of the family to come to visit and see our new additions! Everybody is soooo excited about them, lol!

PS Since I was 3 my favourite colour has been purple!

Congrats on getting hens!

Don’t keep them locked in the hen house day and night, but definitely keep them confined to the run for the first few weeks. They need to get settled, otherwise they might get lost free ranging.

There might still be a bit of squabbling, but as long as no blood is shed, I wouldn’t worry too much.

Thanks! Yes, we've given them the freedom to go from the hen house into the run. I noticed yesterday that they already have a pecking order!