Hello,

I'm new to chicken keeping. Just getting set up right now and looking for a breeder. I've really struggled to find a breeder of pure breed chickens in my region. All online directories seem to be years out of date with dead links and breeders no longer operating. Is there a reliable directory? Or perhaps experienced chicken keepers could make recommendations here?

I'm based in Lincolnshire but happy to travel a couple of hours. I'm looking for a mixed flock of approx 4 hens. On my shortlist are Cream Legbar, Welsummer, Wyandotte, Maran, and Orpington. Open to suggestions of other breeds suitable for a family garden.

All advice and recommendations very welcome. 

Agree with DM.  Also had a quick look and here are a few to get you started. Some nice looking hens here some on your list http://www.poultrymad.co.uk/index.html

or you can't go wrong with a few hybrids to start with lovely colours and fully vaccinated http://www.briggspoultry.com/briggs_poultry_002.htm   https://www.manor-farm-poultry.com/home 

I think it's best to go and visit and see the hens and then you can choose.  If you get fixated on what breeds you want you can spend forever looking for them at the same breeder.  It's good to look at their qualities first to see what suits you though.

Thank you for your quick response! I'll take a look at that magazine, thank you. Poultry Mad doesn't seem to be operating any more. The Facebook page is inactive and I've not received a response to an enquiry email that I sent a few weeks ago. This is what I'm finding, a lot of the breeders coming up in searches and listings don't seem to be up to date, which is a nuisance. 

Thank you again for your advice. I've found two breeders fairly locally and I'm going to visit them this week. Each has some interesting breeds from my wishlist and a few unexpected wild cards. I'm really going to struggle to narrow down the selection!