patsylabrador

Help please. Care package ideas.

My sister has recently been diagnosed with hodgkin's lymphoma and will start chemotherapy tomorrow. I'm reading everything I can and although it's very treatable she is both in her sixties and has type 1 diabetes which I think I'm right in saying makes a grim situation worse. 

I thought I'd send her regular care packages. I can't visit and anyway we've become pretty estranged. I've got in touch but want to do more. 

The thing is that I have zero knowledge of how someone feels at this stage and what would be good things to receive in the post or even if it's a good idea in the first place. What is someone's skin or energy like. It's a minefield and I don't know where to tread. So I would be very grateful for ideas. We're very different characters, she's more like a rose to my daffodil if you know what I mean. I'd like to send her pretty, delicate kind of things. 

Oh PL, sorry to hear that news. How very lovely that you are researching things to brighten her day up - I wish I had a sister like you!

Personally I am a great fan of L'Occitane....they have lots of lovely treats and do a selection of things in pretty bags. Lots of floral scents.....I love their lavender but they have rose, cherry etc too. If she likes flowers then I'd really shout out for Bloom and Wild and their letterbox flowers. As the name implies, they are boxed to fit through a letterbox and come with ideas on how to arrange them. I use them for OH's dotty old aunt and neurotic step mother (but don't tell anyone I said that!!!)

Having said all that, she may not cope very well with strong scents as chemo can make you feel icky and sensitive to strong smells....but might not. It's very individual. Not On The High Street have some very individual things (as the name suggests!!) so may be worth a trawl? Is she a scarf person? Seasalt have some nice ones, if so. Their handybands are tube scarves that can be pulled up over the face in lieu of a mask.