Matthew

Complete Novice: Chickens arrived last Thursday

Saw the eglu wandering around Newbury Show and got convinced by the g/f that our life would not be complete until we had some chickens. Now given that we don't have kids yet that might be a result ;o)

Ordered at the show, and the eglu and Xabi ( PP ) and Momo ( GNR ) and a (red eglu) arrived last Thurs.

Created an edged section within the lawn and filled with large bark chippings and they seem happy enough, and have been out for a couple of hours to explore the garden, trooping themselves home when it gets dark.

Kate is very happy, and I've worked out that it will take 3 1/2 years to payback the outlay!!!! (assuming they do start laying ;) )

Saw the eglu wandering around Newbury Show and got convinced by the g/f that our life would not be complete until we had some chickens. Now given that we don't have kids yet that might be a result ;o)

Ordered at the show, and the eglu and Xabi ( PP ) and Momo ( GNR ) and a (red eglu) arrived last Thurs.

Created an edged section within the lawn and filled with large bark chippings and they seem happy enough, and have been out for a couple of hours to explore the garden, trooping themselves home when it gets dark.

Kate is very happy, and I've worked out that it will take 3 1/2 years to payback the outlay!!!! (assuming they do start laying ;) )

Welcome! Sounds like you'll be able to have pretty good game of footy too if the chickens live up to their namesakes! :D

Hi and welcome!

My OH keeps track of the total outlay on chickens and how much we get back from them. He reckons we are now down to £50 per egg! :lol: (I keep reminding him there's £10 in egg money on the mantlepiece but he just does :roll::roll::roll: )

Hope you enjoy your chooks! 8)

They do make great pets and waste a great deal of your time.