MrsTusa

Evil hen.. running out of options :-(

Hello, this is my first time posting but I am hoping somebody may be able to offer some advice. We are first time time chicken keepers and got our three girls last August along with our eglu. After a few days establishing the pecking order, Dorothy, Sue (Gingernut rangers) & Priscilla (Miss Pepperpot) soon settled in and have been a complete pleasure until the last couple of weeks which have been just awful..

Two weeks ago we arrived home from work to the terrible sight of Dorothy dead in the run, it was awful enough to find that one of my girls had passed away but to make matters worse it soon became clear that she had been killed by Priscilla and the whole run & eglu itself was in a terrible mess from what looked to of been a prolonged attack. We are sure that Priscilla has been the ringleader in this as Sue had also been badly attacked and was injured herself. Knowing we needed to separate them for fear that Sue would soon end up the same way, my husband and I spent most of the evening temporarily dividing the run under torch light to give Sue the best chance we could of keeping out of Priscilla's way & fortunately a few days later I managed to pick up a second hand eglu on ebay.

We have been separating both girls for just over a week in the individual eglus whilst we are at work before letting them free range and roost together once we are home and things seemed to be getting better and Sue was healing nicely. Yesterday however we decided to try leaving them together for a couple of hours whilst we went shopping but sadly when we got home Sue had been brutally attacked yet again. I feel awful that I left her with Priscilla to do this again.