Sarah 2

More help please

Trying to get round to putting my girls onto bark chippings. Need some assitance to get my husband off the sofa to help. But am I making a mistake? There seems to be a lot of talk about aubiose and hemcore. What is it? Should I be using it? And where can I buy citronella oil from? :?

There are a lot of threads about Aubiose and Hemcore on the site (try doing a search and you will find plenty) I chose Hemcore as it contains Citronella but as I am only a novice so I don`t know how it will be. I have laid it in my run and covered the run with a plastic shower curtain to keep it dry. Apparently it is very moisture retentive and the Citronella helps deter flies etc. I looked up my local stockist on the Hemcore website. A large bale cost less than £7.00 and it is wrapped in a plastic outer which makes it user friendly if you are going to only need a little at a time. I do have bark (chunky play size) around my run but thought it would take too long to rot down in my compost bin if I used it inside the run.

Hope this helps a bit.

I started off with bark chips, but they became muddy and mulchy far too quick. So I now use easy bed - bought from a horsey place. Excellent stuff and a bag / bale does me 4 run clean outs! I clean the run out totally about once a month. More if it gets too compacted. It's nice and clean looking for ages & the chooks love lying in it & chucking it all over their backs! I've made a skirt for my run to prevent them chucking outside of the run, but you can easily brush & shovel it up and chuck it back in for them.

The very first few months of me having the chooks ( last year), I had them on bark chips from Focus DIY. They were awfullly wet. The better bark chips were from Lidl - believe it or not!

But I'd go for easy bed, Aubiose or Hemcore if you can!

Emma.x

Citronella oil £3.95 inc postage for a large bottle at http://www.neph-aromatics.co.uk/special_offers.htm