soapdragon

Old Forum Boiled Fruit Cake Receipt Plea!

On the 'old' forum, under 'good things' (I think) there was a reciept for a basic boiled fruit cake which went back for absolutley eons! I used this a number of times and wanted to use this for the basis of my Christmas cake this year. I had thought that I had transcribed it but seem to have lost my notes and am now in a panic! Does anyone have this still or can anyone tell me where to find this if it is still on the Forum but maybe now under a different topic/name? Please help! Thank you!

Oh YES! You can use brandy to soak the fruit rather than water - continue with the recipe in exactly the same way. I have just made this for our Christmas cake (2 weeks ago) and used Earl Grey tea to soak fruit BUT have been 'feeding' it  brandy each week. Did same last year and it was lovely! 

I’ve been making this for over 50 years and find that recipients prefer it to Christmas Cake.  Boiled fruit cake is stickier and a different texture to a rich fruit cake.  This is my late mother’s recipe:

3 cups of mixed dried fruit

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

6oz margarine or butter (or a mix of both)

2 beaten eggs, large

2 cups self-raising flour

1 tablespoon ground almonds

1 dessertspoon marmalade

1/2 teaspoon mixed spice.

Good pinch of salt (about 1/3 teaspoon but adjust to taste)

Put fruit, water, sugar and fat into a saucepan and heat gently until simmering; simmer for 20 minutes.  Allow to cool and then stir in beaten eggs and flour, spices, marmalade and ground almonds.

I prefer to use Demerara sugar but granulated or soft brown is fine.  Any fruits and nuts can be added to the mix, e.g. pecan nuts, dried apricots, dried dates, Brazil nuts, glacé cherries, etc.

Makes one 8” round tin.  Bake in a slow oven 140degs.  I don’t have a timing but an 8” tin may well take 2hrs.  It is a matter of judgement and ones oven.  I’ve cooked this so often that it’s second nature so forget the ins and outs.