Hi, 

I'm a newbie to chicken keeping in actual fact Imaven got anymchickens at al yet. I've purchased a second hand eglu go up via eBay,  which turned out to be a bit of a nightmare as several bits were missing, it's horribly sunbleached and there is a lot of rust on the run. Having ascertained you can buy additional pieces of eglu fixings from omlet and there cost and come to an agreement with the seller regarding a significant partial refund, I'm wondering what people use to cover the rust on the run and fittings and repaint it with? 'm also considering using vinyl wrap to,cover the go up and wondered if anyone has used this before and whether it stayed stuck on

Thanks in advance for any replies

Hi Microstead, you may be able to shift rust with either white vinegar or WD 40. It is hard work, spray on, leave and scrub with wire brush or toothbrush. Re bleaching, I have cube and the girls roost on top, it is the ammonia from pooh that is whitening the colour not the sun. I haven’t put any film on top but would be interested to hear what others do. 

GOs are relatively new, so I am surprised that it has bleached so soon. The original models, which were built of much sturdier stuff - would eventually lighten int he sun, but really only after 8-10 years.

I would get as much rust off as possible with a fine wire brush, then paint it with Hammerite. I wonder what has happened to the run to make it rust like that - did they keep rabbits in it?

I bought my Go Up in 2014. It has discoloured somewhat but not terribly. The item that is the most bleached is actually the front of the poop drawer, which is in front of the pophole. The white bits have greened a bit from algaes and moss.

I do have some rust on bits and parts of my run too, but again not terribly. The most rust I have found is on the fixings of the up stand that attach to the coop.