fionne

Last choir standing

I'm spitting blood after tonight's last choir standing. Revelation did not sing as a choir, rather a lead singer with a backing group. Surely the title should be last singing group standing. The panel should know better!!! As a musician I was not amused it seemed most unfair. The Bath choir sang as a choir. :(:(

I'm spitting blood after tonight's last choir standing. Revelation did not sing as a choir, rather a lead singer with a backing group. Surely the title should be last singing group standing. The panel should know better!!! As a musician I was not amused it seemed most unfair. The Bath choir sang as a choir. :(:(

I entirely agree with you Fionne. I didn't watch tonight at all. As a choir director myself, I felt I should watch - mostly in case people ask me what I think about it. I think I have totally disagreed with almost every decision these judges have made, and usually along the lines that you have stated above.

I feel really strongly about this: choir is a singular noun. A group of singers does not constitute a choir. A choir sings as one. This programme is rubbish - and could have been so good. :(:evil:

Maestro on the other hand (Tuesdays BBC2 9pm) is absolutely brilliant. I can't wait for the next episode. :D

I have to say I've no idea what any names were or anything about winners and losers because frankly I just don't care enough about these silly tv competitions.

BUT - it was on, James was enjoying the singing and so was I and I thought the choir in the black and yelow were particularly good. Made me think again about joining a choir or the operatic society.

Mind you I've also been thinking about pole dancing lessons.... only thing putting me off is that my mate has stuffed up her knee pole dancing.

I'm amazed at Russell Watson, but there we are. I won't rush to watch again!