pgodd

Raising Broiler Chickens At Home

Inpsired by Huge's "The River Cottage Treatment" programe last Thursday, I am now thinking about raising my own broiler chickens at home.

I agree with his philiosophy of giving chickens a good life before they reach your table and what better way to ensure this than raising them yourself.

Does anyone know where to buy broiler chicks in the Oxfordshire/Berkshire/Hampshire area and what breeds are best?

Also, at risk of showing my complete ignorance :oops: , are broiler chickens usually male, female or both? :oops:

I am completely new to this and so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul.

they are both I believe.

my husband is a "chicken catcher" and catches over 35,000 chicken a night in a team of 4 men. These a broiler chicken destined for major supermarkets. he does free range, organic and standard.

I believe some of these chickens are "hubbards" also known as "golden comets".

We have 2 rescue one's in our eglu (brown and white free range hens) not for our table....but they will lay eggs.

We started with broilers this time last year and didn't know a thing!! We don't know much more now :?

We started with a small book called Table Birds - I'll add the info tomorrow.

Then we found a local producer who we thought might have some spare cockerels we could grow on - it turned out that he has a hatchery, so we ordered 12 table birds of 4 weeks old. I wouldn't have 4 week olds any later than the beginning of October if they are to go outside as ours do.

We sectioned a part of the large run to separate them from the layers.