Cat tails

How to clean an Eglu in 10 minutes!

So I thought it would be nice for prospective buyers to see how easy it is to clean an Eglu. But also for some of the new users to give some ideas about cleaning.

I made a little picture cartoon, using my own Go Up and my own cleaning routine. All pictures were taken during the same clean and even with picture taking the whole process didn't take longer than about 15 minutes. Hope you like it!

Omlet%20cleaning%20ENG%20klein%2012_zpswaikkt4r.jpg

Omlet%20cleaning%20ENG%20klein%2022_zpsv2mwbeis.jpg

Ok so newbie here.  This is my first night with the hens in my eglu go up.  I feel like an idiot though because I filled the entire eglu with straw.  But I can tell from your pictures that’s not what I should have done! Do you lock your chickens up at night in the eglu?  I have three, how do they decide who gets the nesting area? Do the others just sleep on the plastic on either side of the the nesting dip bit?  I bought mine second hand so maybe didn’t get all the instructions?  Going to follow your other suggestions for cleaning though.  Thanks!

Hi!

Definitely no straw as red mite can hide in and between the straws, also chickens don’t do well with dust. I use wood chips in the nesting dip, others will use something like aubiose (horse bedding). I wouldn’t use wood shavings as especially in winter it tended to go mouldy with me.

In the wild, chickens roost in trees, meaning on branches. So they should sleep on the plastic bars, not in the nesting dip. It will encourage broodyness, and they might poop in the nesting dip. Meaning you need to clean it more often than really necessary. But don’t worry for now where they sleep, they will find a spot.