bellekatz

I feel like I am a rubbish driver :(

A few years ago I was driving down my road. Its a side road, which narrows in the middle as there is a road into the local very big Park then it narrows again to the other end. All the way down the road people have to park partially on the pavement to allow one car down the middle, and by the park entrance it is quite narrow. A couple of years ago, I had an accident with a 9 year old girl on her bike in the really narrow bit. She came out from between two land rovers, I braked hard but still caught a glancing blow... She hadn't even realised she was in the road. She was absolutely fine, just a couple of bruises and the police were more worried about me than her and came to make sure I was ok a couple of days later.

Today whilst driving past the same spot on my way to take the dog to the vets I hit a cat :anxious: He didn't run in front of me, and i always drive past that spot slowly after the last time and there were also children on the pavement. I think he ran from an alley, but I didnt see him go under the car, and must have caught him when he ran out the other side. I pulled up further up and agreed with the mother of the kids who got me a cat basket from her house that I would take him to the vets. He had no collar and no chip and the vet put him to sleep. Bur I don't know who his owner is and the people nearby weren't sure either :( I feel so rubbish about driving past there again it took me months to get over the last one and I will probably avoid that stretch of road again now. I have lots several cats to road accidents in the past and never blamed the drivers but feel really guilty now.