Peter

Last day before lock for my ladies

It’s wet overcast and cold plus we are on level 3 virus restrictions but it could be worse as we can still go out to exercise but after today my poor ladies are restricted to there coop and run which is covered in a type of plastic to stop any wiled birds from getting in. Last year in the hart of the winter I did get a robin taking food pellets from the chickens dish and it did enter the coop through the wire, so they can get through small holes. Some people near me have asked on the internet if anyone can rehome their chickens. Don’t know how long it is going to last as I have no experience of it in the past. Peter

This order to keep domestic 'pet' hens confined to their run is disgraceful. It is a clearly goes against 'best welfare' practice and will result in unnecessary stress for both the birds and the owners. Keeping feed and water under cover and attempting to restrict wild bird access should be sufficient. Anyone with any experience will know that to abruptly stop free ranging when the chickens are used to it will potentially lead to severe stress and bring many problems with it.

Whilst we haven't been given this order in this part France, despite 3 outbreaks of Avian Flu in the adjoining 'County' resulting in the early slaughter of 10's of 1000's of birds, I would have no hesitation in treating it as 'for guidance only', which is European practice anyway. If you could hear the racket our flocks make when they are confined to their runs you would understand why. They are fine though if they can't see us, so leaving them in the runs while we are out is no problem at all.