Daphne

In the kitchen

Following comments elsewhere on lets talk food, I should perhaps have called this Recipe for Today or something, but as I am not very good at reciting recipes (most of my everyday cooking is from memory unless I am feeling inspired and get the cookbooks out) I thought I would resurrect the thread we used to have where we could just share what we'd been up to in the kitchen.

As luck would have it, not much by me!  However, OH made a loaf this morning.  He has started mixing the dough (wholemeal flour, yeast, salt and a little honey) the afternoon or evening before in a breadmaker, leaving the dough in the loaf tin overnight in the kitchen, and then baking in the oven in the morning whilst making the morning cup of tea and breakfast.  The honey seems to help the rise.

This evening we are having some smoked cod, stirred through pasta with smoked chili, crushed garlic and wilted spinach.

My Mum's Christmas cake has also just been finished, which is a shame.  Not to worry overmuch though, as we were given an Xmas pud as part of our regular homemade Xmas hamper and I love that even more!

Ooh! I’m inspired to make some bread.  Great idea to resurrect this thread, Daphne. 

I’m craving sunshine at the moment so we’ve just had a tomato, red pepper, spring onion salad, with basil leaves and mozzarella, for lunch.  Just splashed over olive oil and some framboise vinegar,  I found in the cupboard.    Now back to the grey and cold as I light the fire.   But bread making will warm the cockles too